The Quartz Crystal Black-Footed Ferret

Hi, again, friends!

Well, here is my second venture into sculpture. I decided to do a small, non-mounted piece (unlike my last faux taxidermy piece). This new piece, of a black-footed ferret (www.blackfootedferret.org), is inspired by the plastic toys I used to be obsessed with as a child. Y’know the ones, the realistic animals sold in bins at the natural history or science museum. I was OBSESSED . . . still am, a little bit.

Black-Footed Ferret

Anyway, I created this guy. It was hard to get fine details, since he’s SO small. But I did what I could. Like the pacific fisher, he’s got a drusy crystal growing from his head. I placed this quartz here to symbolize the value these highly endangered creatures have to their ecosystem and to our fragile planet.

Black-Footed Ferret
Black-Footed Ferret

I think I may display him in a small terrarium or glass dome. Not sure, yet!
Black-Footed Ferret
Black-Footed Ferret

I would LOVE to know what you think! I’m not sure how much I like working this small, but I’ll give it another shot in the future. Thanks for looking!

4 responses to “The Quartz Crystal Black-Footed Ferret

  1. Love it! I too used to carry around all of my little animal figurines wherever I went, in my pockets, in my lunch box…
    I love this new work :-) if you ever make a deer sculpture… Just let me know!!! However, I am still looking forward to your t-shirt of Minnesota animals (specifically north shore)!!

    • Thanks, Abby! If I do any kind of deer I will let you know. And we’ve got EVERY endangered animal from MN on the shirt…there really aren’t that many there. Which is great! Haha!

Leave a comment